



2011

Captain Niels P. Thomsen Innovation Award





Finalists OPERATIONS OR READINESS

H65 SAR Board Re-Configuration

Air Station Los Angeles AST1 Denis Moyer – absent due to operations

Auto Tuning Weather Fax & Cutter Small Boat AIS
USCGC ACUSHNET (WMEC-167)
ET2 Michael Levinson

Readiness Dashboard FORCECOM (FC-73) LT Joshua Buck







Continuous Process Improvement Training Program Aviation Logistics Center Mr. Steve Chesson, Ms. Glenna Wyatt

Diversity Dialogue

LANTAREA/CGD5 Human Resource Council Ms. Denise Murden, LTJG Veronica Smith, Dr. George Yacus



SAO INNOVATIO

Finalists CDR JOEL MAGNUSSEN INNOVATION AWARD FOR MANAGEMENT

Container Inspection Targeting & Inspection
Sector Houston /Galveston
MST2 Ryan Chartier

Merchant Mariner Credential Verification National Maritime Center (NMC) Mr. Jeffrey Brandt







SCIENCE OR TECHNOLOGY

COTHEN/ALE for Legacy Sunair HF Radios

Electronic Systems Support Unit (ESU) Miami FL

ET2 John Iams, LT Stephen Nowell& CDR James Young







SCIENCE OR TECHNOLOGY

WLB Post-Spill Internal Decontamination

USCGC JUNIPER (WLB-201) USCGC ELM (WLB-204)

CDR Jeff Swanson & LT Robert Cole CWO Andrew Molnar & ENS Cody Isaacson





OPERATIONS OR READINESS

HC-144 Flare Tube CAPSTONE Project

US Coast Guard Academy
Engineering Department
Cadets – Mechanical Engineering

LT Kara Burns, ENS Alex Brown







OPERATIONS OR READINESS

HC-130 Cargo Ramp Improvements

Aviation Logistics Center Industrial Operations Division

Mr. Michael Lopes

Mr. Chris Turner





ADMIN, TRAINING OR SUPPORT

Funding Orders & Reserve Management (FORM)

Coast Guard Deployable Operations Group (DOG)

YN2 Jared Dunn, LT Kris Leverich, Ms. Deborah Mak







ADMIN, TRAINING OR SUPPORT

University Program

USCG Auxiliary Flotilla Northern VA (054-25-12)

Mr. Andrew Welch, Mr. Justin Hunts Mr. Victor Bruno, Mr. John Decastra





INNOVATION AWARD FOR MANAGEMENT

Interagency Alternative Tech Assessment Program (IATAP)

CG Research, Development, Testing and Evaluation Program (CG-926)

CAPT Matt Sisson, Mr. Shannon Jenkins, Mr. Rich Hansen, Mr. Mark VanHaverbeke, Ms. Cathy Harrington





2011

Alexander Hamilton Award for Excellence





LANTAREA Nominee

Category: Operations Ashore – Large

Maritime Intelligence Fusion Center (MIFC) Atlantic

IS2 Joseph Pacheco





DCMS Nominee

Category: Support – Small

NESU Charleston

LCDR Eric Skow





DCMS Nominee

Category: Support – Small

CG Institute

LCDR Kevin McCormack
LCDR Scott Kirkland







~ Recipient ~ LANTAREA Nominee

Category: Operations Afloat – Small USCGC ELM (WLB-204)

LT Herbert Law, XO
CDR John Kennedy, former CO







~ Recipient ~ DCMS Nominee

Category: Support – Small
Electronic Systems Support Unit
(ESU) Honolulu

CAPT Jim Koermer, Mr. Mike Osborn Mr. Mike Monroe, ITC Robert Sherwood ET3 Brian Batchelder, ETCM Rolland Ellard







Category: Support – Large Electronic Systems Support Unit (ESU) Alameda

LT Ken Millson, LT Huy Nguyen, IT2 Michael Popo, Mr. Richard Sopkowiak



